If you know me well enough, you know that my first apartment in Ottawa was really a Roach Motel. Thus, I have a hatred, disgust and panic-stricken-heart-wrenching loss of appetite at the very site of these creepy crawlers.

Nevertheless, here are some fascinating facts about the life-disrupting monsters:

  • They can eat anything. And I mean anything: soap, cardboard, leather and even hair.
  • They roamed with the dinosaurs.
  • They can squeeze into tiny places. Think the thickness of a dime.
  • They can live for 1 week without their heads.
  • Females mate only once, but remain fertilized so they can lay eggs at any time – giving rise to up to 400 offspring in her lifetime.

Put all these factors together and you realize how hard it is to exterminate them. I would never wish infestation on anyone.

Image source

