What makes some of us able to live to see our 100th birthday and join the elite group of centenarians?

Well, listen to what those who’ve made it past 100 have to say:

Sleep.

Exercise.

Eat right.

Stay positive.

Sounds simple, right? Check back in 1 year and see if you’re still following these 4 simple rules. Chances are you won’t be.

James Altuchur asked 12 centenarians what they thought was the key to their success.

Their advice may surprise you.

Mary Cooper: “I can’t stand arguing. If anybody is fussing, I’m gone.”

Adrine Lee: “Keep going and never give up.”

Elsa Bailey: “I do the trampoline on my deck. I jump on it 100 times every morning.”

Dorothy Howe: “I put my health down to whiskey and cigarettes.”

For more:

Watch: The secret to a long life 

TED Talk: How to live to be 100+

Image source

